The ConTempo Quartet


KenDu music presents an historical account of the life of legendary Hugh O'Neill and the Flight of the Earls.

The Road to Lough Swilly, composed and arranged by Michael Holohan, will be performed by the RTE ConTempo Quartet and the Boyne Valley Chamber Orchestra. This is a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a musical depiction of important historical events in the life of the 2nd Earl of Tyrone, Hugh O'Neill.

The movements make use of traditional Irish music forms including reels, jigs, slip jigs and slow airs. Composed for a soloist uilleann pipes and string orchestra the concert will feature Mick O'Brien on uilleann pipes. Five memorials are included: Marching to Drogheda, Sweet Dooley Gate, The Return from Fingal, Dark Lochnagar and the Bonny Light Horseman.

8.00 p.m. 

A wine reception will follow the performance. 


Price per person €40


This event is for a maximum of 70 guests

Event Summary & Location

31 July 2019

Beaulieu, Louth